This site uses cookies to provide a better experience. Continuing navigation accept the use of cookies by us OK






Malaysia is a multi-ethnic and multi-cultural country. The constitution declares Islam as the State religion while allowing freedom of religion for non-muslims. Malaysia became independent from the United Kingdom in 1957; the Federation of Malaysia was formed in 1963 when the former British colonies of Malaya, Singapore and the East Malaysian states of Sabah and Sarawak on the northern coast of Borneo joined together. In 1965 Singapore left the Federation and became independent.


Country name:  Malaysia
Capital: Kuala Lumpur
Main cities: Georgetown (Penang Island), Malacca,  Johor Bahru, Kuching, Kota Kinabalu.
Total area: 330.113 sq km
Government type: Constitutional monarchy: nominally headed by paramount ruler (king) and a bicameral Parliament consisting of a nonelected Upper House and an elected Lower House; all Peninsular Malaysian states have hereditary rulers (sultans) except Malacca and Penang; those two states along with Sabah and Sarawak in East Malaysia have governors appointed by the government; the powers of state governments are limited by the federal constitution; under the terms of the federation, Sabah and Sarawak retain certain constitutional prerogatives (e.g., right to maintain their own immigration controls); Sabah and Sarawak currently holds respectively 25 and 31 seats in the House of Representatives
Head of State: The King is elected to a five-year term among the nine sultans. The position is systematically rotated among the nine, and has been held by Abdul Halim of Kedah since December 2011.
Prime Minister: YAB Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak
Minister of Foreing Affairs: YB Datuk Anifah Aman 
Legislative system: Bicameral Parliament or Parlimen consists of the Senate or Dewan Negara (70 seats; 40 appointed by the paramount ruler, 30 appointed by the state legislatures) and the House of Representatives or Dewan Rakyat (222 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms). Last held elections of the House of Representatives: May 2013.
International organization participation: ONU, APEC, ARF, ASEAN, NAM, OIC, WTO. Malaysia holds the Chair of ASEAN for 2015, in a year in which the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) should be launched.

Malaysia is currently holding, for the two-years period 2015-2016, a non-permanent seat at the United Nations Security Council.

For the Universal Exposition EXPO Milano 2015, Malaysia participates with a self-built 2000 square-meter pavilion. On Saturday October 3rd, Malaysia celebrated its EXPO National Day in Mlan; at the cerimony participated the Prime Minister Mohammad Najib Tun Abdul Razak, the Minister of Trade and Commerce Mustapa Mohamed and the Minister of Tourism and Culture Mohamed Nazri bin Abdul Aziz.